Unconditional Love

Unconditional love can be a tricky thing. The biggest reason this is such a problem is because love in general can be hard to define. When do you know whether or not love is bound to last? Sometimes love changes for reasons we don’t quite understand. That’s part of life, but there is such a thing as unconditional love. No matter what you say or do, these select people are going to love and support you no matter what.

The best example I can think of is the love a parent has for their children. I know for me, no matter what anyone tells my parents about whatever awful things I’ve said or done, my parents would still love me the same. This is what unconditional love is, it’s everlasting and yes, that’s an exceedingly rare type of love but it still exists. I consider myself lucky to have this type of love in my life. What I’ve experienced firsthand based on my own parents is that the love a parent has for their child is unexplainable. They created you, brought you into this world, and so they think very highly of you. But above all, they just want the best for you. I know that not everyone is as lucky as I am and that saddens me. I think everyone should experience this type of love.

Another way to experience is with your partner. I know a lot of relationships that you feel may be lasting just turn out to be temporary. However, I still personally believe that unconditional love can last between our partners. Maybe it can even last in what we feel for our siblings or simply our closest friends. Loving someone forever no matter what happens between you seems impossible at times. But I don’t believe that it is impossible, I think we can all feel that way if we let ourselves.

Leave a comment