Personal Relationship With Sports

Why do I care about sports at all? That’s a complicated question to really answer. Well, first of all, I am not an athletic person. I’ve never played sports but I’ve grown up with them all my life. My brother played basketball, baseball, football, and wrestling. I grew up at the baseball field as a little girl. I used to bring my Barbie backpack and a few Barbies to get me through the ball games. It wasn’t something I cared about back then but now the sport is something I love.

Football was another sport I didn’t understand as a little girl watching her older brother play in the pee wee football games. My brother wasn’t bad but I was about 2 or 3 years old and truthfully, I couldn’t pick out which one was my brother. Years later, I started watching football for the first time. It took me awhile to make it through the whole game since I’d get so restless. I watched the games in full at home and I fell in love with the sport.

A lot of sports fans are those that at least have some athleticism. I have pretty much none and absolutely no sports background except for a year of basketball and a year of track. I am not coordinated and I was always picked last in gym class. But it when it comes to knowing what I talk about and making decent plays, I’ve always been able to do that. I think some people have a brain for sports while some have an ability for sports, some have both. I’m more of just a brain kind of person. But I’m okay with that and I’ll continue to share my love for many different sports as many chances I get.

There’s something beautiful about the way each game is played and also something interesting and awesome about the stories. They never get old to me and maybe you don’t feel that way, but this is my story. Maybe you don’t get why I chose to blog about sports this month but I hope this will give you some background and context about what I do.

Leave a Reply

