Books That Teach You Something

I’m a total book nerd, I’ll admit it. These are some of the books that have taught me many facts about the world. I take these lessons and recall them on a fairly frequent basis. Who said learning wasn’t fun??

Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

Freakonomics-Cover

 

Pretty much everything I’ve learned, I’ve learned from this book. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve brought up an interesting statistic that I learned from this book ever since I first read it. Yeah, it’s pretty much useful information but it’s cool information that you’re going to love and bring up quite frequently in your day to day conversations.

What If? by Randall Munroe

comics-what-if-randall-munroe-01

My dad introduced me to this really cool book by former NASA worker Randall Munroe. Munroe started this comic called xkcd which is a hilarious scientific look at the world. He also started answering questions that were sent to him which adapted into this book. Questions include: What would happen if you tried to hit a baseball pitched at 90% speed of light? And also, what if everyone in the world just had one soul mate – one random person somewhere in the world? Could they ever meet? These are weird questions but it’s interesting to here his scientific and illustrated responses.

Rules For Writers by Diana Hacker

This is a key tool for college students. Basically any college paper that you have to write is going to be in MLA or APA format and this book takes you through all of that. Sure, OWL Purdue is pretty handy with MLA as well, but Rules For Writers is something that you can easily flip through and also offers tons of grammar lessons that you may need a refresher on. It also has helpful little quizzes throughout which are all really awesome.

On Writing by Stephen King

On Writing is a helpful non-fiction novel from the successful horror writer Stephen King. Not only do we learn more about the writer himself, but we also get a look inside what works best for him and different methods that you may not be too familiar with. I found this book particularly fascinating and I really love it.

Now I Know by Dan Lewis

I actually subscribe to Now I Know’s daily newsletter. You can always count on the facts that Dan Lewis comes up with to be intriguing and to teach you a thing or two about the world in general. It’s all really fascinating and I commend Lewis for spending so much time collecting these facts and sharing them in a cool way with the rest of the world.

The Book Of General Ignorance by John Mitchinson

There aren’t many books that are witty and hilarious like this one. Author John Mitchinson informs readers that the book will set you up to win Jeopardy! or Who Wants To Be A Millionaire? And that is very much true. I appreciate all of these facts because they are so random yet you learn so much about the world and stuff that you were unknowingly super ignorant to for all these years.

The History Buff’s Guide to the Presidents

I love and recommend all of the books in the History Buff’s series. However, I had to shout out to this one in particular because I love all of the trivia and facts it taught me. Now I know a lot more about the U.S. Presidents and I think this guide stands out from the other one due to its easy to read format and how it manages to keep your attention the entire time.

 

Leave a Reply

