Personal Favorite Books

The only problem with this particular recommendation is that I’ve already talked about a lot of my favorite books. Since I read so much, I’m going to do my best to bring up books I haven’t already mentioned. These books are ones that really caused me to love reading. This love started from an early age so I’ll try to touch on some kids books as well.

Babysitter’s Club

bsc101

These books were my absolute favorite growing up. I read pretty much every single one of these books. There was at least 100 in the series. I really think that reading these books from such a young age helped me love reading as much as I do now.

Junie B. Jones

Junie-B-Books

Okay, I gotta give credit to Junie. I actually started reading these books long before babysitter’s club. I remember reading these in the first grade and absolutely loving them. I also credit Junie for making me such a sassy child. The character certainly had that part down. There are few characters as hilarious because this is an accurate portrayal of a young girl which is rare with books.

Charlotte’s Web

charlottes web734_template_2734

The first book that wasn’t a series that I fell in love with. The story of Charlotte’s Web is a classic for a reason. It’s one of the most honest and innocent displays of friendship that’s ever been written. I love the simplicity yet deep life lessons this one holds. It’s really one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read.

American Girl

ag-21

These are just four out of many many American Girl characters. These books were amazing and they also taught me a lot about history which is always a plus. The dolls were great but I personally enjoyed reading these since you become so invested with the stories and characters within these stories. I’m not sure which one is my favorite. The only doll I ever had was Kit but I always loved Samantha and Molly’s books were the ones I found myself reading the most.

Goosebumps

Goosebumps-Covers-620x350

I still have nightmares about these books sometimes. They are so haunting and just straight up creepy. The one that always got me was Phantom of the Auditorium. I’ve read it about three or four times and I think the plot twist just shocks me no matter how many times I read it. I even watched the episode of Phantom of the Auditorium hoping that would cure my fears. Nope, I’m still creeped out like 10 years later.

Harry Potter

6tbFBP4R

I didn’t get into these books until like 8th grade. By that point, a majority of the movies were already out but I was still a big fan of the story. I loved Hermione Granger and how intelligent she was and I was so envious of her being a witch and everything. I just really loved the first four books. I couldn’t get through the fifth one but the first four were amazing to me! They really got me back into reading.

A Mango Shaped Space

41ZUdisjQKL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This book is probably the least known of the bunch so far. It really intrigued me the first time I read it. The main reason I included it on this list is because it’s the first book I remember crying over. The story was just so incredible and I’d never read anything like it. The book is about a girl who has synesthesia, which is a neurological phenomenon where you see letters and numbers as colors. It’s a really unique and rare thing that you never read about in fiction young adult books. It was a book that really blew me away and I still love it today.

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

article-0-2163BD5D00000578-586_634x507

Another series that I read in the fifth grade and really loved. It just taught me a lot about what it means to be a real friend. What these four characters have is something that every person longs for. They go through boys, deaths, sickness, pregnancy, and everything in between but they always stick together. And when they can’t physically be together, they just send the pants and it feels like they are really together. This is a book that I will always love, even though the last book was actually insane and weird.

Leave a Reply

