Songs about Growing Up

These are both personal and narrative songs about the hopes and fears regarding growing up.

Landslide by Fleetwood Mac

Sang by my idol Stevie Nicks in a beautiful fashion, Stevie sings about her fear of the future.

Best Lyric: “Well I’ve been ‘fraid of changing ’cause I built my life around you. Well time makes you bolder, children get older, and I’m getting older too.”

The Circle Game by Joni Mitchell

The unique singer/songwriter/musician Joni Mitchell sings about a boy as he progresses through the different stages of life.

Best Lyric: “We’re captive on the carousel of time.”

Never Grow Up by Taylor Swift

T Swift is really great at telling stories about her childhood and teen years. She manages to make things personal and relatable. This song is no exception, as she urges young children not to grow up because it’s not all it’s cracked up to be.

Best Lyric:  Take pictures in your mind of your childhood room, memorize what it sounded like when your dad gets home. Remember the footsteps, remember the words said and all your little brother’s favorite songs. I just realized everything I have is someday gonna be gone.”

Jack and Diane by John Mellencamp

Mellencamp tells the story of “two kids growing up in the heartland” which is a realistic look at teenage life. This song is probably the most upbeat of all the songs I’ve listed and it’s full of good vibes which is nice to hear every once and awhile.

Best Lyric: “Oh yeah, life goes on, long after the thrill of living is gone.”

Leave a comment