Random Rachel Recommendations

These are my random recommendations which includes songs of all genres I believe everyone should hear. I know it’s not very specific so I decided to include when exactly you should listen to them.

Featherstone by The Paper Kites
Listen when: You decide to keep a positive attitude when your heart is unbroken.
Favorite Lyrics: “Wake up to the sound of your fleeting heart.”
“And my love is yours but your love’s not mine.”
There really isn’t much that needs to be said. This is one of the best songs ever and EVERYONE needs to listen. Trust me, you won’t regret it.

Sittin’ on the dock of the bay by Otis Redding
Listen when: Loneliness takes over.
Favorite lyrics: “Looks like nothing’s gonna change, everything still remains the same. I can’t do what ten people tell me to do, so I guess I’ll remain the same.”
“Sitting here resting my bones cause this loneliness won’t leave me alone.”
This song just makes you feel good but once you think about the lyrics, it really is so sad. He’s basically talking about how he’s lonely and will always be lonely so he’s just going to chill.

Silver Springs by Fleetwood Mac
Listen when: You let someone go.
Favorite Lyrics: “I’ll follow you down ’till the sound of my voice will haunt you. You’ll never get away from the sound of the woman that loves you.”
This song starts out hopeful then progressively, Stevie gets SERIOUSLY in her feelings. PLEASE watch this version. Stevie staring down the man she wrote the song about (Lindsay Buckingham, longtime guitarist) is a must see!

Somebody to Love by Queen
Listen when: You feel forever alone.
Favorite Lyrics: “Each morning I get up I die a little, can’t barely stand on my feet.”
“I get down on my knees and I start to pray ’till the tears run down from eyes.”
Freddie Mercury had one of the best voices of all time. This song is one that will always stay in your head. It just makes you remember how lonely we all are sometimes.

Youth by Daughter
Listen when: You want to be emotionally destroyed.
Favorite Lyrics: “Setting fire to our insides for fun, collecting names of the lovers that went wrong.”
The beat and her hauntingly beautiful voice make you forget how depressing the lyrics are.

Where Does the Good Go by Teagan and Sara
Listen when: You need a catchy beat.
Favorite Lyrics: “Where do you go with your broken heart in tow? What do you do with the leftover you?”
Just listen to it.

The Last Unicorn by Passenger
Listen when: Your replacement doesn’t make you forget.
Favorite Lyrics: “Cause you don’t taste like you should, and you don’t fit in my arms like she would.”
This isn’t a very well known song but I think everyone needs to listen to it. Especially when you’re at a point in your life where you try to get over your true love but all that happens is you just miss them more.

Bad Religion by Frank Ocean
Listen when: The one you love can’t love you.
Favorite Lyrics: “If it brings me to my knees, it’s a bad religion. I can never make him love me.”
Words cannot describe how much I love Frank Ocean.

You’ve got the love by Florence + the Machine
Listen When: You know that things will be okay.
Favorite Lyrics: “You’ve got the love I need to see me through.”
I know, this is weirdly positive. I just had to include it because I’m obsessed with Florence Welch’s voice. The lyrics are so catchy and sometimes depressing music gets repetitive.

All My Little Words by The Magnetic Fields
Listen When: Your love isn’t enough.
Favorite Lyrics: “You said you were in love with me, both of us know that that’s impossible. And I could make you rue the day, but I could never make you stay.”
Sometimes you could say and do the most beautiful things for the one you love and it’s still not enough to keep them around.

Leave a Reply

